

# INTERNATIONAL ROGAINING FEDERATION Inc.

A0040409P

Newsletter No. 163

## **IRF** Team

President: Neil Phillips Promotions and Development: Alan Mansfield Secretary/Treasurer: Rod Phillips Technical Manager: Lauri Leppik World Rogaining Championships Manager: vacant

#### Members of IRF

Czech Republic: Miroslav Seidl, Jan Tojnar New Zealand: Alan Holdaway, Nick Collins Canada: Murray Foubister United States of America: Bob Reddick, Eric Smith Estonia: Eduard Pukkonen, Lauri Leppik Latvia: Guntars Mankus Russia: Sergey Yashchenko, Evgeny Dombrovskiy Ukraine: Efim Shtempler Members from Australia: Alan Mansfield, Rod Phillips, Neil Phillips.

#### **Observer status**

Brazil: José Nilton Silva Vargas Canada: Francis Falardeau, Allan Stradeski Finland: Iiro Kakko Germany: Marko Rößler Great Britain: Jeff Powell Davies Hong Kong: Patrick Ng Ireland: Denis Deasy Israel: Dan Chissick Japan: Kazuhiro Takashima Norway: Ross Wakelin Poland: Magda Czapluk Russia: Syropyatov Valeriy South Africa: Lisa De Speville, Pieter Mulder Spain: Felip Gili Sweden: Bengt Nilsson Switzerland: Dieter Wolf USA: Barb Bryant 4<sup>th</sup> WRC: Pete Squires, 6<sup>th</sup> WRC: Peg Davis 9<sup>th</sup> WRC: Grant Hunter

## Vale: Andres Käär

#### Lauri Leppik:

We have lost one of the trailblazers of European rogaining. Andres Käär has passed away. Andres was the course-setter and the Box 3, Central Park, 3145 Australia www.rogaining.org December 2010

mapper of the first TAOK rogaines in Estonia. He has developed the rogaining mapping style that is currently in use in several European countries. He was the key person behind the 2005 European Rogaining Championships held in Nõva, Estonia. The 2005 European championships were a key event in many respects as they drew into 24-hour rogaining several Estonian and Latvian teams. For these achievements, Andres was awarded in 2005 the Geoduck Award, being the only European rogainer who has received this award. Andres was also the first Estonian observer to the IRF and later a member of the Council. We are grateful for his contributions to rogaining.

#### Bob Reddick:

I was most pleased to present the Geoduck award to Andres Käär at the Hat Creek Valley Rogaine NARC in British Columbia on August 3, 2005. His reputation and activities then were well known to all.

## 9<sup>th</sup> WRC: New Zealand

## Report by Bill Kennedy

The World Championships in the Cheviot region over the weekend of 20-21 November 2011 was a great success due in no small measure to a willing and happy band of volunteers who pitched in to help. NZRA thanks all those volunteers who made the event such a pleasant experience for all participants.

We enjoyed amazing cooperation from over 70 landowners. The Cheviot Area School opened their complete facilities to us and the School and Home Association provided continuous meals during the rogaine as well as the post-event meal. Many people commented on how they enjoyed those meals. The Cheviot Lions fed us on Friday evening. And we need to give a big thank you to the whole Cheviot Community. Visitors from overseas remarked on how welcome they felt.

521 competitors in 251 teams from 22 countries fronted on the day. Kiwis Chris Forne and Marcel Hagener won by an remarkable 850 points with a total of 4365. (Marcel is of German origin but has lived in NZ for many years). Second place on 3515 points went to Nicholas Mulder and Ryno Griesel from South Africa, and third was the team of Tonu Lillelaid, Karli Lambot and Rait Pallo from Estonia on 3345 points.

Detailed results are available at <u>http://wrc2010.org.nz</u>. There you will find a results breakdown with distance and time splits for every team. A plot of every team's route is provided via Google Earth and there are many pictures.

#### **Rogaine on the Couch: ROGO**

Competitors at the World Championships were introduced to ROGO, a puzzle which has its roots in Rogaining. The puzzle was developed by Christchurch rogainers Nicola Petty and Shane Dye. You too can ROGO - see the website, <u>http://www.rogopuzzle.com/</u>, for introductory games and more information. An app for iPhone, iPad and IPod touch is available.

#### Model course

Pete Squires of NZRA organised a model course in the few days leading up to 9WRC, and this is the first WRC model course we have had since 1992 in Victoria. Fifty teams took part in the course including from Russia, Latvia, France, Japan, Estonia and USA. It was an opportunity to become familiar with New Zealand terrain similar to 9WRC, to fences, farmland, local weather and map features. The area chosen for the model course was 50km south of Cheviot on the logical route form Christchurch to the 9WRC site, and around Mt Vulcan and Omihi.

## **10<sup>th</sup> World Rogaining Championships**

The next World Championships are planned for 31 August – 1 September 2012, and will be held near Karlovy Vary, west of Prague. The successful bidders and organising team for the World Rogaining Championships was established in 1996: http://www.rogaining.cz, and they have organised the Czech Rogaining Championships every year since 1997. The 2012 World Championships will be a 24 hour team event held in accordance with the international Rules of Rogaining published at www.rogaining.com. Organisers are expecting 500 elite cross-country navigators from over twenty countries and all continents. Czech Association of Rogaining and Mountain Orienteering (CAR). Miroslav Seidl Frostova 338 109 00 Prague 10 – Petrovice Czech Republic Phone: +420-739-327-204 E-mail: miroslav.seidl@rogaining.cz www: http://www.rogaining.cz

## World Rogaining Championships

- 1WRC 1992: Beechworth, Australia Jim Russell & Mike Walters
- 2WRC 1996: Mt Singleton, Australia Jim Russell & David Rowlands
- 3WRC 1998: Kamloops, Canada Nigel Aylott & Iiro Kakko
- 4WRC 2000: Waiau, New Zealand David Rowlands & Greg Barbour
- 5WRC 2002: Lesna, Czech Rep. David Rowlands & Greg Barbour
- 6WRC 2004: Arizona, USA Mike Kloser & Michael Tobin
- 7WRC 2006: Warrumbungles, Australia Chris Forne & Dennis De Monchy
- 8WRC 2008: Karula, Estonia Evgeny Dombrovskiy & Pavel Shestakov
- 9WRC 2010: Cheviot, New Zealand
- Chris Forne & Marcel Hagener
- 10WRC 2012: Karlovy Vary, Czech Rep.